Names given for new streets in Eastern Porirua Development

Eastern Porirua Development has had three new streets officially named

Te Puna Kōrero Committee is the main committee that makes decisions about the city’s strategic direction and framework. It is made up of the Mayor, all councillors and the Council Kaumātua.

After confirming the minutes of the last meeting on 20 June, the committee approved the names of three new streets being created by Kāinga Ora as part of the Eastern Porirua Development.

The names of the new streets will be Kārera Grove (light green in reference to the grass on the land), Wairere Way (the movement of water) and Ngā Whetū Way (the stars). The new streets are located on the plot of land between Castor Cres and Matahourua Cres.

Next, the committee approved public notification of a range of different changes to road signs, including adding Give Way signs, no stopping areas, bus stop signs and road calming measures in various suburbs across Porirua.

Finally, the committee granted approval to Te Aranga Alliance to publicly notify work planned at Cannons Creek Park to create a wetland at the northern end of the park and upgrade stormwater and wastewater pipes that run underneath the site.

Following the meeting, Council held its first workshop open to the public. The workshops are also livestreamed on the PCC YouTube channel. Topics covered in the workshop today included Greater Wellington presenting on potential plans to charge for park and ride car parks, and Council officers discussing proposed changes to Council’s Development Contributions Policy, which will be consulted on in the coming months.

On the meetings page of the council website you can also see what meetings are coming up, with agendas posted a few days before each meeting.

The public is welcome to attend most Council meetings and workshops. They are also livestreamed on the YouTube channel here: